Our Awards

Our Awards

Best of the Best Awards from Assisted Living Federation of America

Over the years, the Assisted Living Federation of America (ALFA) has awarded Five Star Senior Living many of its prestigious Best of the Best Awards, a national recognition reserved for the nation's most innovative and effective senior living programs.

Five Star Best of the Best awards include:
  • Senior Living Community Leadership Award – awarded to Five Star Premier Residences of Hollywood's Executive Director Margie Longsteth. Watch the video. [2013]
  • “Step Up to the Plate” – a program to help night, weekend, and holiday staff respond to family inquiries when most daily managers are off-duty. [2012]
  • “Selling the Five Star Difference” – a training program developed to offer better customer service to prospective residents and their families. [2010]
  • “Fall Prevention Is Everybody’s Business… Not Just Clinical!” – an initiative to make sure that all Five Star employees throughout each senior living community work daily to eliminate potential falling hazards. [2010]
  • The Bridge to Rediscovery Dining Program – designed specifically for Five Star's Alzheimer’s disease care program, providing a positive dining experience for each resident with Alzheimer's or other dementia-related illness. Find out more about our Alzheimer's Care Program, Bridge to Rediscovery. [2010]
  • Five Star's Signature Recipebook – a cook book featuring regional recipes from our communities throughout the United States. The book shares the distinct characteristics – and exceptional food and dining services – that each Five Star Senior Living community has to offer. [2009]


2012 AHCA/NCAL Quality Awards
The American Health Care Association (AHCA) Quality Award Program recognizes high-quality healthcare providers through a three-stage progression: Commitment to Quality (bronze), Achievement in Quality (silver), and Excellence in Quality (gold).
Bronze organizations have created a detailed organizational profile defining overarching goals and mission. They also demonstrate knowledge of their customers’ expectations and show ability to improve processes in the course of their work. The Bronze Award recipients are: Silver signifies the organization has further improved quality by focusing on core values of “visionary leadership, focus on the future, resident-focused excellence, management by innovation, and focus on results and creating value.” The Silver Award recipients are: Gold status is attained through continued exceptional performance in core values over time.The Gold Award recipients are:
As of 2012, fewer than 500 healthcare groups in the U.S. have received AHCA Quality Awards at any level.
Perfect Scores from State Regulatory Agencies
We are proud of our many senior living communities that have acheived perfect scores throughout the years from the regulatory agencies in their state.
2012 2011

« Back to The Five Star Difference