Family Testimonials

See what families are saying about our COVID-19 response.

Notes of gratitude

Thank you to all our wonderful families for sharing their experience with Five Star during the pandemic. We’re honored to be your partners in care during this unprecedented time.

 

“As a physician who works in long-term care, I’ve been impressed with the excellent communication from the administration and staff during this challenging time. I’m so thankful for the excellent job you’re doing to keep the residents healthy and safe while meeting the needs of their families. The team members here are pros!”
 
– Diana H., The Palms, Mount Pleasant, SC


“My mom has lived at Springwood Court for the past three years. I could not ask for a more loving and supportive staff. Although the pandemic has reduced social interaction, team members strive to continue activities for the residents. They’ve kept us informed throughout the pandemic and implemented every safety precaution. I feel blessed to have found Springwood. I would highly recommend the community for your loved one.”
 
– Shirley D., Springwood Court, Fort Meyers, FL


“I can't say enough about ALL the wonderful staff here! These last few months have been a little difficult due to COVID-19, but they have gone above and beyond to make things as pleasant as possible for mom while keeping everyone's safety a priority. Mom is treated with kindness and respect by everyone.”
 
– Resident family member, Crimson Pointe, Rockford, IL


“I want to thank everyone at The Devon for taking great care of my family member and for keeping him healthy and safe. It was heartbreaking not to see my loved one during COVID-19, but with the sunshine visits, FaceTime calls, emails, and other ways of keeping our family updated, it was so much easier. Thank you to everyone from administrators to nurses to housekeeping — we so appreciate everything you do.”
 
– Resident family member, The Devon, Devon, PA

Walter

Bondarovich

2 months ago

I have been a resident of Mt. Arlington Senior Living for almost 2 years. I enjoy the food, activities and companionship in a family-like atmosphere. All of the staff is friendly, very helpful and willing to go above and beyond to assist you whenever you need it. Having physical therapy in-house is a blessing. They get me up and keep me moving! Although things have slowed down during the COVID pandemic, I have always felt safe and secure. I know the staff is following the proper guidelines and taking all the necessary precautions to keep us healthy. It really is a great place to live!

Diana

Lacz

2 months ago

Due to the COVID-19 pandemic. Five Star is very quiet right now. This is to keep our Community and all the residents safe.
We are fortunate to have our Executive Director Abi who has kept us safe during this pandemic.

During normal times the Community is buzzing with many different activities and top entertainers and entertainments. Hopefully we will be able to return to normalcy and to see our friends and families.

Five Star continues to be a lovely Community. If you would like to be a part of a safe and caring environment Five Star is the place for you.
Diana Lacz

Cheryl

Swift

2 months ago

Staff is friendly not to just residents but also families. The facility is really clean. Staff identifies who they are and they're position. If you call the facility someone always answer the phone. Makes sure the person returns a call if they aren't available at that moment. Importantly due to this pandemic they have been able to keep it out since my father got there. I have been able to visit him which has been a blessing.

Tina

McDermott

2 months ago

Having the difficult task of placing my 90 year old father into Assisted Living was complicated by my living out of state. After a phone conversation with Sheila Giscard, it became very clear that HeartFields would be the best I could offer him. Due only to a delay from his physician, he was quickly placed in the apartment of our choice. He was not ready to leave his home, however the staff has tenderly cared for and encouraged him. Covid complicated the move even more, but the staff has gone above and beyond to settle him in, doing all the little touches I would do if I was there. The price is competitive with nearby facilities and I believe the incentive offers from those facilities does not equal the personalized service I have received. I trust HeartFields with my most important person, my Dad.

Christina

Kern

2 months ago

The Taj Mahal of facilities I’ve worked in. I’m beyond grateful to work with amazing team members and wonderful residents that always keep me on my toes! Everyone works so hard to make this place “home”, especially during these Covid-19 times. The residents have our backs and we have theirs! 🙂

Buddy

Miller

2 months ago

I just had my 2nd experience moving a family member into Morningside of Belmont. Our recent move during COVID-19 could have been a nightmare, but the staff helped make it as easy and smooth as possible. Five years ago my mother-in-law moved into Morningside and I have come to know the staff as sincerely caring and devoted.

Bob

Tomanovich

2 months ago

My Name is Bob Tominovich I have been living at Mt. Arlington Senior Living for the past year and four months. Prior to the pandemic I really enjoyed , the people treat us very well and take care of us very well. I am very fortunate to be on the independent ones as in I take care of myself. When the pandemic hit the place became very restricted but in my opinion this saved a lot of us. We don't like what is going on but we like the way the staff is taking care of us and actually protect us.

Vickie

Chandler

2 months ago

Many thanks to the staff at Morningside for the care they show my mother. Having a loved one in an assisted living during Covid-19 has been hard on everyone. The staff at Morningside has done their best to keep the residents safe and provide a pleasant environment for them.

Nicole

Pedrami

2 months ago

3rd year update - still 5 stars. I visit every day so I get to observe a lot of activities and have gotten to know the Staff and the other residents. This caring team gives my Mom the attention and compassion she needs - she is thriving to the best of her ability. The staff are proactive with great attention to detail. The Somerford team has been the ideal partner in providing the right care for my Mom.
Year 3 update: Mom is on Hospice and is bed bound. The team still takes loving care of my Mom and have provided excellent healthcare keeping her comfortable. They have enabled me to Skype/video call to stay in touch and keep me informed. In difficult and vulnerable circumstances, Somerford has handled the pandemic as well as possible.

Russell

Hutchens

2 months ago

As a non-resident of Morningside of Springdale an objective review is somewhat daunting without being there everyday. But I do feel that I can speak for what my parents have told me over the course of the two years that they have called Morningside home. I do think they feel at home in their new surrounding. My Father pleasantly surprised by the amount of room that they had in their apartment. He has enjoyed his new patio as much as the one he sat at for 40 years. I think he was surprised by the flexibility that he has had in tending the patio “garden” and has told me on several occasions how accommodating to his interests the staff has been. Mother has conveyed how secure she feels and how easy the transition from their home had been. So much a simpler and easier life she has said. They both have enjoyed and participated in the faith based devotions and are grateful that this aspect of their life has been attended to.
And then of course we have dealt with Covid for so many months.
Myself and my siblings have thought the precautions that have been taken have been appropriate for the threat that it poses. Certainly I wish that personal visits and interactions outside was not limited. However the strategies that Morningside has implemented have been successful in keeping everyone healthy.
It has been a huge step that my parents undertook into giving up mobility and independent living in a large home. I think they will both say it has been a very good move. And all of our family has felt blessed that this decision was made pre-covid. Mom remarked how difficult it would have been on us all if they had not moved before the pandemic.
I did say from the start that it would be hard to recommend or evaluate a facility that I did not live in. But Mom said and they both seem content in the lives that they lead. I think that it has to be different. But independence and motivation to lead satisfying lives has been something that they both will tell you they have been granted and encouraged to do at a Morningside.

Title
Tell Us How We Did:

Find a community nearby

Five Star offers options and excellence, with 260 senior living communities in 33 states.