Family Testimonials

See what families are saying about our COVID-19 response.

Notes of gratitude

Thank you to all our wonderful families for sharing their experience with Five Star during the pandemic. We’re honored to be your partners in care during this unprecedented time.

 

“As a physician who works in long-term care, I’ve been impressed with the excellent communication from the administration and staff during this challenging time. I’m so thankful for the excellent job you’re doing to keep the residents healthy and safe while meeting the needs of their families. The team members here are pros!”
 
– Diana H., The Palms, Mount Pleasant, SC


“My mom has lived at Springwood Court for the past three years. I could not ask for a more loving and supportive staff. Although the pandemic has reduced social interaction, team members strive to continue activities for the residents. They’ve kept us informed throughout the pandemic and implemented every safety precaution. I feel blessed to have found Springwood. I would highly recommend the community for your loved one.”
 
– Shirley D., Springwood Court, Fort Meyers, FL


“I can't say enough about ALL the wonderful staff here! These last few months have been a little difficult due to COVID-19, but they have gone above and beyond to make things as pleasant as possible for mom while keeping everyone's safety a priority. Mom is treated with kindness and respect by everyone.”
 
– Resident family member, Crimson Pointe, Rockford, IL


“I want to thank everyone at The Devon for taking great care of my family member and for keeping him healthy and safe. It was heartbreaking not to see my loved one during COVID-19, but with the sunshine visits, FaceTime calls, emails, and other ways of keeping our family updated, it was so much easier. Thank you to everyone from administrators to nurses to housekeeping — we so appreciate everything you do.”
 
– Resident family member, The Devon, Devon, PA

Lohaib

A

1 month ago

My mother turns 97 this year and has memory issues. I wanted to find a place that supported her autonomy but also was able to provide round the clock care. My mother loves the open floor concept, walking paths and comfortable seating on the patio. The staff is loving and attentive and the activity program is Montessori based to cover all aspects of body mind and spirit. The community at Somerford really makes it feel like home. Family Visitation is a top priority during Covid with regular Zoom calls and window visits. The building is clean and attended to. The activity classes are interactive and engaging, its wonderful to see my mother lively and active! The staff is top quality and so responsive (impressively so during the pandemic) especially considering the at risk population of memory care facilities, they have been more than accommodating to my questions, concerns, and visitations with my mom. I can relax knowing my mom is safe, happy, and well cared for. Somerford is quaint and charming and really is a wonderful community. Outdoor accessibility is essential for my mom, her time to connect with nature has been key to her ability to thrive, and Somerford provides daily walks and has an amazing layout that allows for REAL nature walks. I highly recommend this facility and their staff, my mother and I have had a wonderful experience all around.

Annie

Ballance

1 month ago

I’ve just moved my mom into the Memory Care unit at Summit Place after searching for the right spot in the Beaufort area. This has been a complicated year for our family, with Covid making the decision to bring her to Beaufort even more fraught than it would’ve been. I had been in Summit Place prior to Covid and already knew it was clean and safe and appointed nicely, but now I’ve gotten the chance to know the staff, too. They’ve made all over my mom as she’s been getting acclimated and done anything possible to make her feel welcome and comfortable, as they’ve done for me as well. Totally professional and incredibly warm and caring. And just plain nice. I’m incredible grateful to know I’ve made a great decision placing her here.

Melissa

Calles

1 month ago

I was able to gather all the information I needed in Somerford with the help of the Executive Director Jennifer, she was able to answer all of my questions and even some about the facility during covid and how they were handing it at their building. She was knowledgeable and honest on may parts of the process. Also the building is in a great location compared to other buildings in Fresno.

Tracey

Doniel

1 month ago

By far the most positive experience i could have. I just recently moved my mom and dad here and could not have asked for any smoother transition during these crazy virus times, not to mention the escalated timing of this move. The friendliest and most caring staff, I have ever encountered. I have no doubt my mom and dad will be well taken care of and my worries and fears for their health and safety can finally be put to rest. Thank you, Morningside!

Kristie

Abney

1 month ago

My aunt has been a resident at Morningside of Alpharetta for two years. She is a complicated case in that she is blind and has a dog. The staff and the facilities at Morningside are simply phenomenal. They have bent over backwards accommodating our families needs and go above and beyond at every turn. Even with Covid making the last year so challenging for this type of facility, they've done everything they could do to keep the residents happy and engaged and SAFE.....a near impossible feat. In short, I cannot say enough or recommend it more highly.

Susan

Atkinson

1 month ago

My husband is a resident of Fox Hollow in the memory care unit. I am very pleased with the professionalism of all the staff and the high level of care that he receives. The Fox Hollow team make sure that there are plenty of activities to engage the residents. And from what I saw on my visits to the community (with appropriate precautions against COVID) it is obvious that all of the care team really do care about the residents. It was a very hard decision to move my husband into Fox Hollow, but I feel very comfortable that this is the best and safest place for him to be right now. He tells me that the food is good, and he seems much happier than he was before the move.

joe

bailey

1 month ago

An outstanding facility in every way. They are a compassionate group of professional caregivers who went out of their way to accommodate my ailing mother during the height of the COVID-19 crisis. A caring and dedicated staff who go out of their way to keep me informed as to my mother's health and well being. I highly recommend Walking Horse Meadows to anyone looking for senior living facility that really cares about it's residents!

Rebecca

Welch

1 month ago

This has really been an unusual experience for me. First of all, I have never slept in a room by myself and that was hard to get used to. Eventually, I thought it was kind of nice. Second, I found that I didn’t have to worry about falling anymore. When I was at home I mixed up my medicine and would fall 3-4 times a week. I found that I had a really good friend, who worked at Montgomery Central K-12 and she cordially invited me to join her table during meals in the dining room. Strangely enough, there was a man at the table who really caught my eye. He had big blue eyes... VERY blue... Sky blue. Which was a change for me because both of my previous husbands had brown eyes. That’s the beginning of our love story. After 6 months during covid restrictions, we decided that we would get married. My son, Cayce is a minister and he performed the deed outside of the building with our family and watching us from a window. When I look at everything from where I am now and when I first arrived and was lonely and in a room by myself, I feel like God put us both here. Even though there are no walking horses 😂 I would still like to give our home here a five star rating!

Lorna

LeBeau

1 month ago

I would like to take a moment to thank the entire staff at Somerford Place of Roseville. You provided excellent care for my father during his 2 year stay.

Somerford is very well managed and both my brother and I had numerous interactions with multiple staff members. Each interaction was very professional, and we truly felt like our needs, as well as our father’s needs, were extremely important to the staff and sincerely addressed. I feel like the staff bent over backwards to help our family. There were multiple occasions when we would stop in (pre Covid) to check on our father. We would watch from afar, typically without staff’s knowledge and each staff member interacted with the residents with respect and genuine care. What an extreme blessing to leave our loved on in a facility that was staffed by such kind and dedicated human beings! I personally previewed numerous facilities before finding the perfect place for our father.

There are many group activities for residents and our father reported that the food was excellent. The facility was extremely clean and well decorated. It felt and looked like a resort, but still felt like home.
Something that was very special to me personally, was the frequent updates and pictures on their Facebook page. During Covid, visitation was kept to a minimum, so the frequent updates/pictures on the Facebook page were extremely comforting.
My father recently passed, and I must say that we will miss our Somerford family. We’ll miss the friendly phone calls and emails regarding our father’s condition.

I would, without hesitation, recommend Somerford Place of Roseville. 💕

Clara

Leo

1 month ago

This has been a long and fearful year with the pandemic and unrest. I thank my stars for having chosen The Gables for my home at this time, they have been unfailing in keeping us well and secure in these hectic times. The future is improving as we will be receiving our vaccine on the 29th. May we see a new light by spring. Stay well. Thanks again to The Gables.

Title
Tell Us How We Did:

Find a community nearby

Five Star offers options and excellence, with 260 senior living communities in 33 states.