Family Testimonials

See what families are saying about our COVID-19 response.

Notes of gratitude

Thank you to all our wonderful families for sharing their experience with Five Star during the pandemic. We’re honored to be your partners in care during this unprecedented time.

 

“As a physician who works in long-term care, I’ve been impressed with the excellent communication from the administration and staff during this challenging time. I’m so thankful for the excellent job you’re doing to keep the residents healthy and safe while meeting the needs of their families. The team members here are pros!”
 
– Diana H., The Palms, Mount Pleasant, SC


“My mom has lived at Springwood Court for the past three years. I could not ask for a more loving and supportive staff. Although the pandemic has reduced social interaction, team members strive to continue activities for the residents. They’ve kept us informed throughout the pandemic and implemented every safety precaution. I feel blessed to have found Springwood. I would highly recommend the community for your loved one.”
 
– Shirley D., Springwood Court, Fort Meyers, FL


“I can't say enough about ALL the wonderful staff here! These last few months have been a little difficult due to COVID-19, but they have gone above and beyond to make things as pleasant as possible for mom while keeping everyone's safety a priority. Mom is treated with kindness and respect by everyone.”
 
– Resident family member, Crimson Pointe, Rockford, IL


“I want to thank everyone at The Devon for taking great care of my family member and for keeping him healthy and safe. It was heartbreaking not to see my loved one during COVID-19, but with the sunshine visits, FaceTime calls, emails, and other ways of keeping our family updated, it was so much easier. Thank you to everyone from administrators to nurses to housekeeping — we so appreciate everything you do.”
 
– Resident family member, The Devon, Devon, PA

Rebecca

Welch

1 day ago

This has really been an unusual experience for me. First of all, I have never slept in a room by myself and that was hard to get used to. Eventually, I thought it was kind of nice. Second, I found that I didn’t have to worry about falling anymore. When I was at home I mixed up my medicine and would fall 3-4 times a week. I found that I had a really good friend, who worked at Montgomery Central K-12 and she cordially invited me to join her table during meals in the dining room. Strangely enough, there was a man at the table who really caught my eye. He had big blue eyes... VERY blue... Sky blue. Which was a change for me because both of my previous husbands had brown eyes. That’s the beginning of our love story. After 6 months during covid restrictions, we decided that we would get married. My son, Cayce is a minister and he performed the deed outside of the building with our family and watching us from a window. When I look at everything from where I am now and when I first arrived and was lonely and in a room by myself, I feel like God put us both here. Even though there are no walking horses 😂 I would still like to give our home here a five star rating!

Lorna

LeBeau

2 days ago

I would like to take a moment to thank the entire staff at Somerford Place of Roseville. You provided excellent care for my father during his 2 year stay.

Somerford is very well managed and both my brother and I had numerous interactions with multiple staff members. Each interaction was very professional, and we truly felt like our needs, as well as our father’s needs, were extremely important to the staff and sincerely addressed. I feel like the staff bent over backwards to help our family. There were multiple occasions when we would stop in (pre Covid) to check on our father. We would watch from afar, typically without staff’s knowledge and each staff member interacted with the residents with respect and genuine care. What an extreme blessing to leave our loved on in a facility that was staffed by such kind and dedicated human beings! I personally previewed numerous facilities before finding the perfect place for our father.

There are many group activities for residents and our father reported that the food was excellent. The facility was extremely clean and well decorated. It felt and looked like a resort, but still felt like home.
Something that was very special to me personally, was the frequent updates and pictures on their Facebook page. During Covid, visitation was kept to a minimum, so the frequent updates/pictures on the Facebook page were extremely comforting.
My father recently passed, and I must say that we will miss our Somerford family. We’ll miss the friendly phone calls and emails regarding our father’s condition.

I would, without hesitation, recommend Somerford Place of Roseville. 💕

Clara

Leo

3 days ago

This has been a long and fearful year with the pandemic and unrest. I thank my stars for having chosen The Gables for my home at this time, they have been unfailing in keeping us well and secure in these hectic times. The future is improving as we will be receiving our vaccine on the 29th. May we see a new light by spring. Stay well. Thanks again to The Gables.

Kathleen

Simpson

3 days ago

My mother just finished her 2nd full year at McKay Manor and she really enjoys it! The new management is a blessing for not only my mother and the other residents, but for our family! Every time I walk through the door I am met by smiling, helpful staff and residents! The people who live there are so happy with the new management and the way things are going. The staff treat my mom like a member of their own family. During this time of Covid and craziness, the current management and staff have done a WONDERFUL job in keeping my mother safe and happy. I am truly grateful that my mother has these people to look after her.

I would like to add a special 5 STAR shout to Kristi! She continues to go above and beyond to show her love and care for the residents at McKay Manor! She eases our worry and concern for our mom by her added efforts, thoughtfulness, and genuine love for everyone at McKay! I would HIGHLY recommend McKay Manor to anyone looking for a great place to live!

Craig

Svete

4 days ago

I moved my mom into Meadowmere in April of 2019. From the first meeting with the Sales Director, Diana to the on-going interactions I have with Laneesha, the Director along with every team member, they always go above and beyond to support my questions, concerns and requests. It has been a challenging time with Covid; but i feel 100% at ease that my mom is well taken care of. I highly recommend Meadowmere to anyone looking to house their parent(s) as they age.

Leelee

Henderson

4 days ago

Truly lives by their name- a 5 star facility. They reach out to family and keep you updated. They have great staff and food. They go out of their way to accommodate and make it to be able to see loved ones through covid while still keeping all parties safe.

Colette

Kocher

1 week ago

I have had the chance to work here for almost 6 years. The residents become part of your lives as you work here. I have also have had to put my family member's in here for rehab and also for long term. The staff have always taken my family and treated them like their own family. We have strong team members from the top to the bottom. When you walk in the front door you feel like you are home. Residents and Staff build bonds. During this stressful time of Covid-19 we had learn to come together as team members and a community and I am thankful for that. I wouldn't want to be any where else. We are here for one thing and that is our RESIDENTS....

Scott

Wilson

1 week ago

My mother recently moved into Morningside of Gallatin. The staff has been so wonderful and helpful! Mom is doing great and is very happy. COVID has not kept the residents and staff from helping make this transition smooth. We talk on the phone often and can even do a virtual visit if we want to see each other. She has made nice friends already and is especially enjoying being with folks her age. It is also good that she has her own space now instead of staying with me or one of my siblings as she has been. Her apartment is so nice. She loves the food and is worried that she is going to gain weight because she is eating so well. I have peace of mind knowing that she is surrounded by nice folks, caregivers and nurses. And that COVID safety precautions are being taken, but not to the point that she is isolated. I also love that they have their little dog Sam that is being encouraged to come visit her since she loves animals. Paula and Carey are helping us figure out the long term care insurance.

Stanley

Arnold

2 weeks ago

I am awed by the incredible care that my wife, Elaine, received at Somerford Place, Columbia, MD, from the moment she was admitted until the day she died. But the care began well before her admission, care for me that is, as I frantically sought some arrangement for Elaine when I realized that I no longer had the skills to care for her. My association with Somerford began after I called a placement agency (“A Place for Mom”), and Somerford almost immediately responded. My first contact was with the business office manager, Lisa Ferryman, who answered the plethora of questions I had, and who greatly put me at ease, letting me know that I had found the right place. Then William Clark, Somerford’s Director, spent a great amount of time with me on the phone, further answering my questions. I remember being unusually tense and concerned about the pending change in our lives, and amid my panic and frustration with events, Will was the calmest, most soothing person I had ever encountered. When I first visited the home, before my wife’s admission, Will spent a lot of time with me in person, explaining things, and further putting me at ease. Then, also during my first visit to the home, I met the Community Relations Director, Melanie Dands, and while all the other marvelous staff would be taking care of my wife, here I found the person who would be taking care of me. Melanie was a Godsend, and stayed in almost daily contact with me, checking in periodically to see how I was doing, and answering questions I might have. She was always my go-to person, and always the first person I would contact if issues or questions arose. Her deep personal concern for the residents in the home became clear to me when she played me a recording of a song she had written, expressing the probable feelings of a person with dementia, and their struggle with handling the changed world around them. It brought me to tears.

And the staff members that actually cared for Elaine were so, SO, wonderful. I had a lot of issues to deal with, and Christiana Bonsu, the Resident Services Director, was extremely helpful in helping me communicate with outside agencies, and getting necessary things done. Judi Beyer, the Activities Director, and Cathy Vigus, Judi’s assistant, were the ones with whom I set up visits to see Elaine, and they did a marvelous job of keeping Elaine and other residents active and engaged. Even with the limitations on visits because of covid, I was very impressed with the care and involvement of these two wonderful professionals. And the nursing staff was second to none. I appreciate Priscilla Martin being with Elaine when she died; and Yamah Komeyan, a committed professional and a wonderful person, was the nurse with whom I had the most contact, and who regularly kept me informed about Elaine’s status.

The entire staff worked so earnestly to help me get Elaine moved to her home in Mississippi while she was still living, though it wasn’t meant to be. Elaine ended up in the hospital instead, and then passed away just two days after being released. There was a lot of discussion during all of this, and the care and concern that was conveyed to me by the Somerford staff was beyond any expectation that I ever had.

I could not have possibly chosen a better place for Elaine to be for the final six weeks of her life. Elaine’s short stay was far from routine, and the response from the Somerford staff was truly heroic. The facility is wonderful, the care is beyond anything I’ve previously experienced, and the leadership absolutely top notch. If I had another loved one requiring end-of-life care, Somerford is where I would have them placed…period.

Susan

Marlowe

2 weeks ago

Our 99 year old parents have made their home at Independent Living at Riviera for the last several years. The staff there are GREAT....very caring, kind and personal.

The last year has been very challenging with the pandemic, but we have been able to keep in touch via zoom, with staff assistance. This has made it possible for our whole family to celebrate together on their 99th birthdays and 78th wedding anniversary.

Riviera has recently added a PT department which has been a great addition. Taylor Weaver in particular has gone over and beyond by providing services in mom and dad's apartment. Not only has she increased their stamina and improved their balance, but she has cared for them holistically, making sure they're hydrated and eating. Then she communicates to the family, which greatly decreases our anxiety in a time when we can't visit.

Many thanks to ALL the great staff at Riviera!

Title
Tell Us How We Did:

Find a community nearby

Five Star offers options and excellence, with 260 senior living communities in 33 states.