The Gardens of Virginia Beach
Reviews

We'd love to connect

Type of Inquiry

We value your privacy. By clicking "submit" you are agreeing to the terms and conditions of our privacy policy and agree to be called in response to your inquiry by a Five Star Senior Living Representative.

*All fields required, except phone number.

Reviews - What People Are Saying

At The Gardens of Virginia Beach in Virginia Beach, VA, we love to showcase reviews and feedback, because you have the chance to hear from residents in their own words. Everyone’s experience is unique, but there’s so much we share, and so much that connects us. Here are just a few thoughts from our community:

5

Mia

Banks

1 year ago

Good
5

Carol & John

Rowe

1 year ago

Our go-to person at The Gardens of Virginia Beach was Mary Harrison. We first met Mary on a Virtual Tour of The Gardens on October 2, 2020. She was delightful and really made the transition to The Gardens for my brother, Angelo, seamless. Mary coordinated everything for us. Angelo said last week that he is “living the dream” and he “feels like a king.” The staff at The Gardens are very attentive to Angelo. In this pandemic, The Gardens has maximum protocols in place, and the staff abides by them. We would highly recommend The Gardens of Virginia Beach to everyone looking for a place for their loved ones. We will just close on this statement that Angelo made: “This is home for me now. I don’t ever want to move from here.”
5

Karen

Hall

1 year ago

When searching for an assisted living facility with a good fit for my father in law, I studied and reviewed a lot of places! Since he is transitioning from Fredericksburg to Virginia Beach, I wanted to find a place with a personal feel and with the amenities that would most appeal to our dad. I found it at The Gardens of VA Beach!! I cannot say enough about Mary Harrison!!! She organized absolutely everything for us, kept in constant contact with us, answered all of our questions, did an AMAZING JOB in our virtual tour, and truly made us feel 100% welcomed and confident that we had chosen the right place. This facility has BEAUTIFUL grounds with lots of blooming trees and flowers and an absolutely beautiful and welcoming front entrance and court yard. The apartments are small, as are all apartments in an assisted living facility but they are so nice and clean and provide everything needed. This facility also has a memory care unit that is separate but those residents have ALL of the same amenities on a smaller scale which we love!!!! Our dad is moving in this Wednesday and we arw confident that he will be happy, very busy, and fulfilled in this warm and loving environment. THANK YOU SO MUCH MARY FOR ALL YOU HAVE DONE AND BEEN FOR US during this most difficult time!! We cannot say enough about you!
5

Lynn

Owen

2 years ago

The Gardens were our first and only choice. Throughout the entire process, Barbara, Loryn, and TJ tag-teamed the challenges, in a fashion, which left little doubt in our minds that they were up to the challenges of maximum care, maximum caring, and maximum quality of life for these people we love so much. Barbara actually found an apartment situation which would allow all three of them to live together, and her suggestions for financing made the whole project possible. My father-in-law, with all of his health needs, transferred directly to their new apartment, and he was instantly in love with the health and wellness staff. My mother-in-law was skeptical, until she walked in and said, "It doesn't look or smell like one of those homes--I could live here!" She moved in with her sweetheart two days later; the cat moved right along with them. In just the short time they have been at the Gardens, we have seen such a huge difference in my father-in-law's spirits, his health is bound to improve; my mother-in-law is so excited about all of the physical and mental activities, she's started to sound and look like the woman of the past; and the cat knows every inch of his new apartment--we're going to get him a new cat-tree to climb. Thanks are not enough for all that the Gardens has come to mean to us and ours, in the last few weeks. The peace of mind they have delivered to us, as they have adopted our family members, has left us amazed and humbled. Every single staff member is continuously blessed by us and in our prayers, daily, because of his or her commitment to becoming part of our family, as we feel we have become part of theirs. Five Stars just don't seem to be enough!
5

Debbie

Stevenson

2 years ago

There are not enough superlatives to describe the wonderful way we were treated, welcomed and aided in making the decision to move my family members into The Gardens. From the get go, Barbara and her amazing staff were all positive, friendly and had the can do attitude to make it happen. I know they will love living there even though it is a big step moving, downsizing and changing venues that they loved. I had the pleasure of eating in the dining room the first few days of the process, the meals were delicious, the service was top notch and accommodating. Even sending us with dad's favorite Butter Pecan ice cream to bring to him in the transitional hospital. Moving can be traumatic for anyone, but especially for the elderly who need extra help, but still think they are strong youngsters. I think that the people who work there, some as long as 3 decades, know how to make this an easier transition. Thanks to everyone at The Gardens for all you do and for being so welcoming to our family. I know they will be happy there.
5

Fay

Jessup

2 years ago

I toured The Gardens in Virginia Beach last week with my 92 yr. old sister. Ms. Barbara Boeninger was such a delight, her knowledge and kindness overwhelmed me. I have visited many assisted living facilities and The Gardens is superior to any others. The place was so clean and fresh flowers in vases, a very pleasant sight. Ms. Barbara Boeninger had lunch served in the private dining room and I must say the food was delicious. This was find dining above what I ever imagined. I would not consider putting my love ones anywhere but The Gardens. I can not thank Ms. Boeninger enough for her compassion and hospitality.
5

Patty

Hardt

2 years ago

I toured The Gardens about three weeks ago. My mother was in the hospital after receiving injuries at her previous assisted living home. Needless to say, I was anxious about making a decision on where to place my mom. However, my concerns were completely alleviated after I was assisted by Barbara. She was truly amazing! Barbara and her staff went out of their way to meet my mother's needs and the deadlines. The facility is not only beautiful but very friendly! I could tell the close knit community of people working there really were compassionate about their jobs and taking care of the elderly. I thank everyone at The Gardens for the wonderful experience!
5

Laura

Beck

2 years ago

I’ve recently moved mom into The Gardens of Virginia Beach, and I cannot say enough great things about our entire experience. From my initial inquiry, touring of the facility, steps along the way, and moving her in, everyone was so very helpful, attentive to all of the details and compassionate at this challenging time. Barbara and Mary are first class! Quickly responding with guidance, patience and. thorough knowledge of our specific needs. Susan as well as Donny were very helpful and all of the residents, nurses & staff are so welcoming and friendly. If you are currently searching or considering assisted living for a loved one, I highly recommend you checking out The Gardens! I visited and toured many locations in the area, and found The Gardens to excel, above all others.

Rating Form Title
Write a Review

Give a Star Rating

Let’s start a conversation!

Whether you’re looking for a community for yourself or a loved one, let’s talk about where you can go from here.