Somerford House & Place Hagerstown

Reviews

What People Are Saying

At Somerford House & Place Hagerstown in Hagerstown, MD, we love to showcase reviews and feedback, because you have the chance to hear from residents in their own words. Everyone’s experience is unique, but there’s so much we share, and so much that connects us. Here are just a few thoughts from our community:

My grandmother currently resides at Somerford. We thoroughly enjoy all the activities they have planned for family members to spend time with their loved ones. The activities director/coordinator puts in such an effort to create fun/memorable experiences for all involved.

5

Ashley

Murray

2 months ago

My grandmother currently resides at Somerford. We thoroughly enjoy all the activities they have planned for family members to spend time with their loved ones. The activities director/coordinator puts in such an effort to create fun/memorable experiences for all involved.
5

Susan

Wood

2 months ago

My Dad, David Raymer, recently spend his final hours in this wonderful facility. Since my Dad came to live there in September 2016, the great staff always treated my Dad with loving kindness, support and patience. The care was excellent. I so much appreciated Nurse Shirley suggesting Hospice to me a few months ago, and they partnered with the Hospice team to deliver the best of care. It is a beautiful facility, the food is very good and it is obvious that the staff enjoy the work they are doing with the residents. I came here to begin with because so many people in community highly recommended them. I believe Somerford is the assisted living facility of choice in our area. I will be forever grateful.
5

Robert

Daley

2 months ago

Somerford House staff have been absolutely amazing with us in placing my mother in their assisted living facility. They've made it easy on us in making this tough decision. They quickly approved my mothers application and we moved her in the next day. So far everything we've seen and been involved with has been outstanding. Their commitment to our satisfaction is overwhelming. My mother has enjoyed the food. It's taking her some time to adjust to the new environment, but, staff and other residents have gone out of their way to make her feel welcome. I'm sure as she adjust, she will love it as much as we do. It's never easy for her to give up her home, but we feel she will do well here and have the care required for her to continue living a full life with little effort. I feel completely comfortable that the staff at Somerford House has the knowledge and training to assist my mother with everything she needs in her elder years. They are assisting her with dressing, occasionally assisting with toilet and for us knowing she's getting nicely prepared meals all of which is essential for us to feel comfortable with my mother living there. The staff has been extremely accommodating to us as well. I'm very happy with this choice for my mother!
5

Kathy

Lamb

2 months ago

Before my mother went to live at Somerford House, almost 6 months ago, she had lived alone. My father passed away 5 years ago and she didn't want to leave the home she lived in for 60+ years. Due to a back injury, then a stroke she had no choice but to move to assisted living. Since she has been at Somerford her whole attitude and demeanor has improved tremendously! Her biggest complaint when she lived alone was the loneliness. Even though her five children visited her regularly, she still didn't have many activities to stimulate her mind. Now, at Somerford she leads her "gang" in activities. She is happy, well fed and medically taken care of with much tenderness. She loves the staff and the residents and they love her. To have her cared for in this way takes so much stress and worry away from her children. We still visit her regularly, but sometimes we have to "hunt" her down. She always greets us with a big smile on her face and lots of love in her heart. We cherish what Somerford has done for Mom. Thank you to everyone who works at Somerford!
5

Sharon

2 months ago

Came out to Spa Night to hang with my grandmother. What a great event for the seniors. Staff really went out of there way to make the night special.

Rating Form Title
Write a Review

Give a Star Rating

Let's start a conversation!

Whether you’re looking for a community for yourself or a loved one, let’s talk about where you can go from here.

Find A Community Nearby

Five Star offers options and excellence, with 260 senior living communities in 33 states.