HeartFields Assisted Living at Frederick

Reviews

How can we help?*

Type of Inquiry

We value your privacy. By clicking "submit" you are agreeing to the terms and conditions of our privacy policy and agree to be called in response to your inquiry by a Five Star Senior Living Representative.

What People Are Saying

At Heartfields Assisted Living at Frederick in Frederick, MD, we love to showcase reviews and feedback, because you have the chance to hear from residents in their own words. Everyone’s experience is unique, but there’s so much we share, and so much that connects us. Here are just a few thoughts from our community:

5

Judy

Harris

1 week ago

My parents are in their 90s and as much as my sister, brother, our spouses, and I did to keep them in their own home, it wasn't enough. It became obvious that their care and needs were beyond what we could provide, but having experienced other "facilities" with other aging family members, it wasn't something we wanted for our beloved parents until we visited Heartfields. Heartfields was so welcoming, from our first tour to everyone's help moving in and all the coordination in between. In no time at all, Heartfields felt like home not only to mom and dad but to us all! We have peace of mind knowing they are being cared for not only by such a skilled staff but by staff members that truely care about them. Everyone is so friendly and helpful, kind and compassionate. I feel like arms are wrapped around me when I enter Hearfields. It is so hard caring for aging parents even tougher to make the decision to move them into an assistant living community. Heartfields has been a blessing and I do get emotional thinking about how well my parents are being cared for. Now when I go to visit I don't have to be the caregiver, I can go visit and just be their daughter thanks to the entire staff at Heartfields. I highly recommend that if you are facing the daunting task of finding a great place to move your loved ones you must visit Heartfields for yourself.
5

Cheryl

Gustafson

1 month ago

My family and I needed to move my 92 year old father from an independent living community to an assisted one. We started our research and talking to others and Heartfields kept repeatedly coming up as being an exceptional place. We called and were blessed to be put in contact with Sheila Giscard. We were immediately impressed by not only her professionalism, but more importantly by her compassion, love for and personal interest in the residents. We made the decision to move our dad there but unfortunately faced many personal family crises/ challenges and our plans for the move had to be repeatedly put on hold. We expected at any time for Sheila/Heartfields to grow exasperated by our many delays but were only treated with respect, unlimited patience, compassion and empathy. Unfortunately, my father’s health rapidly declined and as a family, we decided he needed to be at home with us. Instead of being upset with us for again having to change our plans, Sheila’s only concern was the welfare of my father. I told her if the other staff at Heartfields is only HALF as compassionate as you are, we know it is an outstanding place!
We have had to hire caretakers to help assist my dad and many of them have worked with clients living at Heartfields. They all rave about the staff and level of care they see there- again, confirmation that this is indeed a place I would highly recommend! We all want our family member to be in a clean, safe, bright, happy place and more importantly, a place where they are loved, valued, and encouraged to continue to experience the best quality of life they can. I truly believe Heartfields is such a place, and with people like Sheila Giscard on staff, the family can be assured and at peace knowing our cherished family member is comfortable, safe and well- taken care of both physically and emotionally. Thank you, Sheila, and staff!
5

Brian

R

1 month ago

This retirement community is simply wonderful! I highly recommend those looking for a lovely community for their loved ones to visit Heartfields at Frederick! No question about that!

Besides the home being filled with terrific residents, having a clean, cheerful and bright environment, the staff should be much praised! Let me share...For almost 20 years, I have visited Heartfields Frederick to sing for the residents. I do this for many communities and this particular community has really touched my heart in a deep way. The Activities Coordinator, Melissa Hanshew, who has been an employee there for over 22 years (the longest employed worker there! She started when the building opened! ), is simply amazing! I see her genuine love for her "extended family"! I observe Melissa's passion to serve the community residents and as a result, these people's smiles are always ignited like the sun! They are always happy! Frankly, it's beautiful to watch every time I visit! They love this woman and they are genuinely happy!

When I come to Heartfields, I can't wait to just observe that special connection that Melissa has with her residents! As she encourages people to attend the event, I notice how attentive the people are to her. They respect this recreational coordinator, they trust her with their lives and yes... I see that they love her as she clearly loves each and every one of her residents as like with her personal family!

Melissa makes each person feel a part of the community circle. She is always attending to their needs and making them feel comfortable and appreciated!

I love the decorations that adorn the activity room and other places throughout the building to make the place pop with energy and vibrant life all about! Melissa and her staff always make the community happy and festive throughout the year from what I observe!

There is diversity and creativity with each program that I have been a part of and I am extremely impressed. I truly get the impression that Ms. Hanshew is using her activities skills and budget in the most wisest of ways to facilitate establishing the highest level of morale and happiness that a community could ever experience!

I see how Melissa is so hospitable in the way that she personally serves each resident and or instructs assistants to help with the tasks, as well.

I am also very impressed with how her "family" treats Melissa like their very own daughter! They love her! Everyone does! I also see how well she gets along with other staff members. She's easy-going and you feel so at peace when you talk with her. You feel accepted and not judged. She's a true kind and compassionate human being in the finest way!

The residents excitedly make their way and joyfully take their seats every time! They have this look on their face when Ms. Hanshew communicates with the people. It really warms my heart.

Lastly, I have noticed how well organized the activities coordinator is. The calendar is always filled with fun events, projects etc.. And it appears that everything is very organized and well orchestrated every time I am present!

So, I could keep going on and on about Melissa and her excellent staff but that would take an entire day to do so. The long and short of it is that your loved one will be extremely happy and fulfilled at Heartfields and especially because of the way that they will be cared for in the Activities Department! No question, they will receive much wonderful stimulation and fulfillment with what's going on under Melissa Hanshew's leadership! My hat goes off to her and her long tenure at this community!

Congratulations Heartfields!
5

John

George

1 year ago

Before we had signed the papers of admission, my 100-year-old father and I had lunch with the Heartfields Administrator plus revisited to look at possible rooms. Once we had decided and entered our assigned area, we were both surprised at the beauty of the community, it's furnishing, and the garden view from our window. My father said, “This certainly exceeds my expectations.” This was exactly what I had thought. I knew we had arrived into a caring community. These observations have proved to be true repeatedly.
5

Emily

1 year ago

My family toured several facilities in the Frederick area before deciding on Heartfields for my 88 year old mother. Upon entering Heartfields, we immediately felt comfortable with the staff and thought the facility was very attractive. ALL of the staff has been very friendly, helpful, and caring, and they have managed to make this drastic lifestyle change very easy for my mother. The units are very comfortable and my mother is enjoying all the amenities available ---from the hair salon, activities, and especially the spa! I feel extremely relieved that my mother is in their care. They are doing a great job !
4

Earlene

1 year ago

Since moving into Heartfields about 2 months ago, I have come to think of it as home. I am very comfortable in my apt. It is roomy with ample closet space and everything is convenient and well maintained. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful and is always striving to please. I haven't met any staff member who hasn't been caring. The first person we met on touring Heartfields was Dennis and I liked him right off the bat. He is always upbeat, jokes around with me, and has gone out of his way to make me feel at home. I give ALL of the staff and this facility an A+.
5

Judith

Whalen

1 year ago

My mother lived at Heartfields at FDK for nearly 7 years. She had fallen and broken her hip bone and could no longer live at home. I looked at most of the assisted living homes and determined Heartfields seemed to be the best. It was the best. The care given to her was very kind and generously given by the staff. There was low turn over of the staff, so I got to know them well. The food is excellent, well prepared and delicious. I can't say enough about having a love one stay at Heartfields at FDK. I highly recommend them to others.
5

Robin

Kurdziolek

1 year ago

This facility is without a doubt the BEST place my father had ever been a resident in. The staff is very friendly and caring. They go out of their way to make sure your family member is cared for. The food was OUTSTANDING!! My father was a vegetarian and the staff accommodated him dietary needs. They take the residents out on bus rides, out in the patio, walks, cook outs, ice cream, or anything they might like. I just cant say enough good things about this facility. I would recommend this facility for anyone who has to place a family member in a facility. They are OUTSTANDING!!

Rating Form Title
Write a Review

Give a Star Rating

Let's start a conversation !

Whether you’re looking for a community for yourself or a loved one, let’s talk about where you can go from here.

Find a community nearby

Five Star offers options and excellence, with 260 senior living communities in 33 states.