Somerford Place Annapolis | Reviews

Reviews

Somerford Place Annapolis

4.8 13
5

1 month ago

As a professional in the Assisted Living industry I take referrals very seriously and only recommend assisted living homes I believe in. 2 years ago I was tasked with a difficult decision for my own family member. My sister-in-law had early on set Alzheimer's disease and needed a respite stay after a hospitalization. We decided on Somerford not because they were a community in our company but because I believed in them. They were all loving and the care was extraordinary! Now I feel comfortable not only recommending as a professional but as a family member as well.

5

2 months ago

I was afraid that Mom would balk at having to move to a different place but Sherri Gilde and the staff made it so smooth! Mom actually thought the move was HER idea! Great facility-well staffed, quiet (considering it is off Riva Rd) and secure. I don't have to worry about Mom wandering around the parking lot (like she did at the other assisted living facility).

5

4 months ago

I have come in and out of this and many of the assisted living facilities in Anne Arundel County over 15 years. This facility has what's important- quality of life. Great food, great activities, smiles around each corner, caring oversight and a wonderful layout for safe "busy" residents. The Nurses and care staff work hard to provide seamless care. Such a pleasure to see this working well for those who can not plan their own activities and futures anymore.

4

5 months ago

I moved my husband from a smaller facility to Somerford in June 2015. He loved to walk and this was the perfect place for him. He was free to walk into all of the houses there. They also have a huge outdoor fenced in area where we spent a lot of time. As I was there almost every day I became friendly with the nurses, caregivers, housekeeping, kitchen staff, maintenance, etc and they are terrific. There are some truly compassionate caregivers here and my husband was lucky enough to get one of the best in his house. I will truly miss her smile and contagious laughter. The food is terrific and my husband enjoyed everything. From the Director of Somerford and the office staff to the caregivers he was always treated so kindly. He loved the attention they gave him and he returned it with smiles and laughter

4

5 months ago

I moved my husband to Somerford in June of 2015. He loved to walk and this was the perfect place for him. Not only could he walk into all the other houses, they have a huge outdoor area where we spent a lot of time. The grounds are beautiful and we especially loved the bamboo trees. There are many truly compassionate caregivers here and we were lucky to get one of the best in his house. She treated him as if he were family. I will really miss her smile and contagious laughter. The food is terrific and he enjoyed every meal. From the Director and her staff to the nurses, caregivers, housekeeping, kitchen and maintenance, everyone would stop and talk to him. He loved the attention and would return it with a smile or laughter. He was always very well cared for and I could go away knowing he would be fine.

4

1 year ago

To me, this facility’s greatest asset is its staff. In general, the caregivers are kind as well as competent. Many seem to feel genuine affection for the residents. In the area where my husband lives, I’ve had the opportunity to get to know several of the nurses as well as caregivers. They have all been willing to check on any possible problems, and most seem to try to make the residents feel that they are special with a little hug or pat. The front office staff and the maintenance team are always pleasant and helpful. The kitchen staff does a good job on preparing healthful and appetizing meals. My husband has always liked a beer with his dinner, and they store the non-alcoholic ones (that I supply) in their walk-in cooler and deliver one every evening when the dinner meal is served. The environment is pleasant, and general the staff wins the battle to keep it clean – no small task with so many incontinent residents.



Are you a resident of Somerford Place Annapolis or a family member of one? We'd love to hear your thoughts about the community!

Write a Review