Forwood Manor

Reviews

How can we help?

Type of Inquiry

We value your privacy. By clicking "submit" you are agreeing to the terms and conditions of our privacy policy and agree to be called in response to your inquiry by a Five Star Senior Living representative

What People are Saying

At Forwood Manor in Wilmington, DE, we love to showcase reviews and feedback, because you have the chance to hear from residents in their own words. Everyone’s experience is unique, but there’s so much we share, and so much that connects us. Here are just a few thoughts from our community:

5

Mark

Purnell

4 months ago

A letter to future families of Forwood Manor,

My brother and I are writing this so that anyone considering Forwood Manor Senior Living knows that they and/or their loves ones will not be disappointed. With that being said, we wanted to extend a heartfelt thank you to the Executive Director, management and all the staff, along with the residents, as they made our parents feel at home since the day we walked in the door almost six years ago.

Over the years, both of our parents transitioned multiple times from short-term rehab, to Independent Living, and then Assisted Living, all while never having to leave the community. With each move, they were properly cared for, treated with dignity and given the utmost respect - right up until their recent passing.

From the beginning, we have been delighted with their experience, as Forwood has always considered our parents (and us as their children) part of the “Forwood Family.” We had, and continue to have, the ultimate confidence in how they have been handling the COVID-19 situation. We were always satisfied with their genuine compassion to do right by the residents, but to have full trust in this team was always the most comforting.

Now, we hope you take comfort in the wonderful experience we had and know that that would be extended to your family as well.
Sincerely,
Mark and Ernie Purnell
5

Tom

Dulin

5 months ago

My father is in independent living which he enjoys. The staff is really nice and the tenants appear very happy. The independent rooms are spacious and beautiful and feel comfortable. They're bigger rooms than most places that we looked at. The dining room is a cozy gathering place with great food and friendly service.
I Highly Recommend
Tom
5

Chip

Reid

6 months ago

My mother is in Assisted Living at Forwood Manor and I am very happy with her care. Why? Because my mother is very happy with her care. When mom's happy, I'm happy.
She loves the nurses and all the other people who dote on her and make sure she's happy. I call them her "Forwood Angels."
Mom enjoys the food (especially how many choices there are), the activities, her living quarters -- she even puts up with her physical therapy.
Before Covid-19 struck I frequently drove to Forwood from my home in Washington DC, and I always enjoyed the happy, loving vibe I got from the people who take care of her.
Now that I can't visit in person they have graciously arranged Zoom calls, which mom enjoys. (She can't handle the technology herself, so they take care of all that.)
It's such a load off my mind to know that mom is in such good, competent, caring hands. Thank you Forwood Manor.
Chip Reid
Washington, DC
5

Elizabeth

Laire

10 months ago

My mom passed away about a month ago, she was at Forwood Manor for 6 years and she went from independent living to skilled nursing. There were two people during my mom’s time there that were phenomenal; they treated my mother like she was their grandmother. They just treated her with the dignity and respect that she deserved. They stopped in to see her when she was not their patient. Tamika even went to her funeral which I thought was really incredible of her and I just wanted to thank both Samira and Tamika for the care they showed my mom.
5

Jean

Hitchens

10 months ago

I stayed at Forwood Manor for 6 weeks and I was fortunate enough to have Dominic. He spent a lot of time with me and he encouraged me when I was feeling discouraged with my shoulder replacement surgery. He even insisted on wheeling me out when I finally left so we had a great relationship. I also wanted to recognize Stephanie, the head of the physical therapy department and her whole team for being patient with me. They are a wonderful bunch of people, very attentive.
5

Jones

Ofori-Baffoe

10 months ago

First of all, Forward Manor, is very serene and a welcoming facility. It is has very clean environment. The staff is very professional and friendly, especially Ada Omeija the HR Director, she is always willing to give a helping hand regardless of how busy she is. Robert, the executive director, treats his residents like family. I will always recommend Forwood Manor to friends a family anytime of the day, as the perfect choice!
5

Diane

10 months ago

I moved my parents here several years ago to be close to family. They were extremely happy here - my Dad especially liked the dining facilities and the food. My Mom made several good friends. They are both gone now, and I miss visiting the wonderful facilities and the outstanding staff! Keep up the good work!!!
5

Vince

10 months ago

I want to commend some people who were very good to me during my stay. The physical and occupational therapy department and the regular staff were excellent.

Rating Form Title
Write a Review

Give a Star Rating

Let's start a conversation!

Whether you’re looking for a community for yourself or a loved one, let’s talk about where you can go from here.

Find a community nearby

Five Star offers options and excellence, with 260 senior living communities in 33 states.