Somerford Place of Stockton

Reviews

How can we help?*

Type of Inquiry

We value your privacy. By clicking "submit" you are agreeing to the terms and conditions of our privacy policy and agree to be called in response to your inquiry by a Five Star Senior Living Representative.

What People Are Saying

At Somerford Place of Stockton in Stockton, CA, we love to showcase reviews and feedback, because you have the chance to hear from residents in their own words. Everyone’s experience is unique, but there’s so much we share, and so much that connects us. Here are just a few thoughts from our community:

 

5

Karen

Ferguson

4 days ago

When my mother in law was diagnosed I looked for a facility that would have different levels of care so that as the disease progressed she would be able to remain at one location. Somerford has provided an engaging day program when she was independent which included painting, holiday celebrations, games, socialization, and memory focused activities. Somerford is now providing her with the best live in care. Everyone is so friendly and caring. Peggy Massey and Leslie Anderson as well as the receptionists, nurse, and all other staff I've encountered are always so welcoming. Not only have they done everything to help my mother in law adjust but Peggy and Leslie have been so understanding and kind to us as we adjust. I never feel like a burden when calling to ask questions or to check in on how my mother in law is doing. Moving a loved one into a care facility is a difficult decision but we know that she is receiving the best care. She is happy, active, socializing, and well groomed. Somerford has allowed us to step back from the stress of being the primary caregivers so that we can focus on enjoying our time with her. We are so thankful to everyone at Somerford for the great care they are providing my mother in law and the peace of mind they are providing us.
5

Karen

Ferguson

1 week ago

When my mother in law was diagnosed I looked for a facility that would have different levels of care so that as the disease progressed she would be able to remain at one location. Somerford has provided an engaging day program when she was independent which included painting, holiday celebrations, games, socialization, and memory focused activities. Somerford is now providing her with the best live in care. Everyone is so friendly and caring. Peggy Massey and Leslie Anderson as well as the receptionists, nurse, and all other staff I've encountered are always so welcoming. Not only have they done everything to help my mother in law adjust but Peggy and Leslie have been so understanding and kind to us as we adjust. I never feel like a burden when calling to ask questions or to check in on how my mother in law is doing. Moving a loved one into a care facility is a difficult decision but we know that she is receiving the best care. She is happy, active, socializing, and well groomed. Somerford has allowed us to step back from the stress of being the primary caregivers so that we can focus on enjoying our time with her. We are so thankful to everyone at Somerford for the great care they are providing my mother in law and the peace of mind they are providing us.
5

Josephine

Suzara

3 weeks ago

Somerford Place actually has a wonderful, friendly and knowledgeable staff from their Concierge Sumera, their med tech Sukhi, their LVN’s Liz & Hansel, their Marketing Director Peggy and their Executive Director, Lesley. They are geared towards providing excellent care and tailored fit to their residents and their families. Finding a great memory care unit for a special loved one is tough, but Somerford Place can help you provide the best level of care, with their compassionate staff/nurses, you can rest assure that your loved ones will be in great hands. They’re called a 5-star for a reason 😉
5

Somi

Jacob

1 month ago

My Mother was living in assisted living until I noticed she needed more attention due to her dementia getting worse. I have friends that had their parents at Somerford Place and were quite pleased with the care. After meeting with Peggy and Leslie and careful consideration, I decided to move my Mother into Somerford Place. It was the best decision for my Mother. I noticed a difference in my Mother because she was receiving more attention with prompting and queuing, I really think she felt better about herself since dementia is a frustrating experience. The caregivers and nursing staff are kind and compassionate. My Mother never misses a day in the activity room, they have so much fun. I am glad I made the decision to move my Mother to Somerford Place.
5

Roberta

Peters

2 months ago

My Father has been at Somerford Place for a little over two years now. We have experienced normal life at Somerford and the pandemic life there also. The care at Somerford Place is kind and compassionate not only toward the residents but it is felt by the family also. During this difficult COVID time, I feel the staff has gone above and beyond to continue good physical and mental health and still remain distanced and safe. The staff has been able to keep us connected with their Sunshine visits and when we are unable to visit, we can FaceTime and Zoom. We are kept informed every week with updates so we know how Somerford Place is dealing with this pandemic, after all protocol changes often with the virus. I know my Father is in good hands and this is where he needs to be at this time in his life.

A happy Daughter

5

Cameron

Glenn

2 months ago

The decision to place my Mother in memory care was a difficult one. We were the family that promised to keep her at home. But as the Alzheimer’s disease worsened, it was too hard to care for our Mother. Somerford Place showed us the personal care and activity schedule and how busy our Mother would be and the opportunity to be social again. Leslie and Peggy made the transition from home to Somerford easier than we imagined. Mom loves the food and the nursing and care staff are very compassionate. We love seeing photos of Mom and how she is spending her days. We miss the being there often before Covid but we are happy that we receive regular updates and safe visits at this time. Sometimes we zoom with our Mom if we can’t make a visit. We are very pleased our Mom is at Somerford Place and doing well.
5

Roberta

Peters

2 months ago

My Father has been at Somerford Place for a little over two years now. We have experienced normal life at Somerford and the pandemic life there also. The care at Somerford Place is kind and compassionate not only toward the residents but it is felt by the family also. During this difficult COVID time, I feel the staff has gone above and beyond to continue good physical and mental health and still remain distanced and safe. The staff has been able to keep us connected with their Sunshine visits and when we are unable to visit, we can FaceTime and Zoom. We are kept informed every week with updates so we know how Somerford Place is dealing with this pandemic, after all protocol changes often with the virus. I know my Father is in good hands and this is where he needs to be at this time in his life.

A happy Daughter
5

Carolyn

Abbott

1 year ago

If there were a+ on the rating for Five Star, I would add that too. Take away your guilt for placing your loved one here, they treat them as their own. They are kind, loving and efficient. The place never smells and the meals are well planned and presented as a top restaurant. I could never say enough about how wonderful this place and the people providing care are.
5

Leslie

Oliver

1 year ago

My partner has been in the Day Program at Somerford Stockton for over a year. The first day or two he was reluctant to return. Ever since he is happy to go even 5 or 6 days a week. The staff is terrific! Everyone from the aides to the director greets him with a smile and by name. When I walk him back to the activity room one of the staff comes over, takes his hand and tells him how happy she is that he came that day. He doesn't participate in all of the activities, but there is tremendous variety every day. I feel he gets physical activities and some mental stimulation. I can't say enough good things about Somerford Place in Stockton.
5

Dawn

Villalobos

1 year ago

A few months ago my husband and I found ourselves taking care of his brother. His daughter died suddenly and she had been his caregiver. She was so young, nobody expected this would happen. My husband’s brother has dementia and is unable to care for himself. He was so lost and spent most of his day sitting in a chair, watching TV. We decided we needed to find a better place for him. We were so lucky to find Somerford Place. Peggy, Leslie and everyone we met there were so friendly and welcoming. Seeing my brother-in-law now, living in Somerford Place, is so nice. He participates in the activities, always has a smile on his face and is so much happier. Thank you Peggy Massey for all of your help. We would recommend Somerford Place to anyone looking for a home for a loved one with Dementia.

Rating Form Title
Write A Review

Give a Star Rating

Let's start a conversation!

Whether you’re looking for a community for yourself or a loved one, let’s talk about where you can go from here.

Find a community nearby

Five Star offers options and excellence, with 260 senior living communities in 33 states.